2010 Conference Resources

 

 2010 Leadership Conference and Workshops: Using New Media & Health Communication Technologies 

 

General Resources

New Media Literacies Blog (http://newmedialiteracies.org/blog/)
Institute for the Future (http://www.iftf.org/)
Health 2.0 (http://www.health2con.com/); Blog (http://www.health2blog.com/)

Articles

Watercasting: Piloting the use of participatory media for identifying public health and water management concerns
Center for Study of Science, Technology, and Policy

A new iPhone app provides opportunities for grassroots, participatory epidemiology
Institute for the Future

New media glossaries:

New Media Glossary
The Press Democrat

Public Health 2.0: Social Innovation and the Rise of Open Health
Jody Ranck, Public Health Institute

Information School at UCB - Digital Youth Research Project:

Digital Youth Research Project website (http://digitalyouth.ischool.berkeley.edu/report)

Digital Youth Project Summary (http://digitalyouth.ischool.berkeley.edu/files/report/digitalyouth-TwoPageSummary.pdf)

Digital Youth Project White Paper (http://digitalyouth.ischool.berkeley.edu/files/report/digitalyouth-WhitePaper.pdf)

Digital Youth Article in the Washington Times (http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2009/jan/28/social-networking-benefits-validated/)

 

Resources Recommended by Speakers

Howard Rheingold, Lecturer, UC Berkeley and Stanford

21st Century Literacies: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/rheingold/detail?blogid=108&entry_id=38313
Crap Detection 101: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/rheingold/detail?entry_id=42805
Twitter Literacy: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/rheingold/detail?blogid=108&entry_id=39948
Attention Literacy: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/rheingold/detail?blogid=108&entry_id=38828

Tessie Guillermo, President and CEO, ZeroDivide

ZeroDivide: www.zerodivide.org

Amy Tenderich, Journalist/Health 2.0 Consultant

http://www.diabetesmine.com/designcontest
http://www.newsweek.com/id/104413
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKHLmKGPUuM
http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-179614694.html
http://www.economist.com/specialreports/display story.cfm?story_id=13437940

Manny Hernandez, President, Diabetes Hands Foundation and Social Media Consultant

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS
Social Media for Nonprofits: http://askmanny.com/2010/01/social-media-for-nonprofits/

NING LINKS
General:
Ning For Nonprofits: http://askmanny.com/2009/11/ning-for-nonprofits-guest-post-on-the-case-foundation-blog/
Using Ning to Connect Your Community: http://askmanny.com/2009/10/using-ning-to-connect-your-community/
Ning and niche social networking: http://askmanny.com/2009/09/ning-and-niche-social-networking/

Examples (TuDiabetes):
Nov. 14 Take the Big Blue Test: http://askmanny.com/2009/11/nov-14-take-the-big-blue-test/
World Diabetes Day 2009: Lessons Learned - http://www.tudiabetes.org/profiles/blogs/world-diabetes-day-2009-1

FACEBOOK LINKS
Bilingual Fan Pages: Share with fans in their own terms: http://askmanny.com/2010/01/bilingual-fan-pages-share-with-fans-in-their-own-terms/

YOUTUBE LINKS
Examples of video co-creation through social networks, focused on health: http://askmanny.com/2010/02/entering-the-4th-annual-dogooder-nonprofit-video-awards/

Andrea Spagat, Center for Digital Storytelling

See examples of digital stories at: www.storycenter.org/stories

See recent example of international public health work through CDS project, Silence Speaks. Website includes links to stories created in CDS/Silence Speaks workshops and discussion guides developed to use stories as educational resources.
http://www.genderjustice.org.za/projects/digital-stories

Our digital storytelling process is documented in the Digital Storytelling Cookbook: www.storycenter.org/cookbook.pdf

Mike Kirkwood, CEO, Polka

Speaking at Quantified Self on mobile health data standards: http://www.kk.org/quantifiedself/2010/03/mike-kirkwood-on-open-standard.php
Speaking at mHealth in January 2010: http://www.slideshare.net/mikekirkwood/connecting-the-streams
Demonstrating at Health 2.0: http://blog.polka.com/?p=442

Back to top

 


 

Conference pages:

 

Relive the Conference | Agenda | Keynote Speakers | Speaker BiosConference Resources